Last Minute and Lust Worthy

Are you a level-5 procrastinator? Are you super busy and October just flew by? Whatever your excuse is for not having a Halloween costume perfectly planned, I forgive you for not planning a year in advance like me. And, I’m here to help. I’ve pulled together some fun, last-minute costume ideas that will give you the the perfect excuse to buy that Fall item you’ve been lusting after.

Fun and Flirty Flapper
It is so easy to fall into the trap of buying the nicely packaged costumes, especially for the flapper look. But you are going to thank me for this one. Instead of getting a 20’s specific dress, opt for any sparkly dress you see and let it double as your New Year’s Eve dress!

The Roaring Twenties NYE
BB Dakota slip dress / Forever 21 knit dress
Also need: Layer up on long pearls, grab a boa, and make a DIY headband!
Hair: Give yourself a faux bob for the night! // Makeup: Extra flirty! A thick stroke of eye liner paired with a red lip. Channel Clara Bow!
Country Singin’ Cowgirl
Okay, so the singing is optional. Dig out your Daisy Dukes, throw on your brown boots, and get ready for a hoedown.  Now, this is the perfect excuse to buy a new flannel for the Fall. I bought this one last year and practically lived in it during the winter.

 I miss my old apartment.

Okay so technically I was Miss Texas (we were all Miss America contestants) but at the heart of it, I was a down home cowgirl.
Also need: Cowboy hat (Check a party store or Target)
Hair: Pigtail braids. I would totally do fishtail now // Makeup: Simple girl next door, and I threw on some eyeliner freckles for fun!

Revenge of the Nerds
One of the easier last minute costume and the best excuse the grab that cute cardigan you’ve been lusting for. Basically grab a button down shirt and pair it with shorts, pants, a skirt, anything. And,  of course, practice your best Steve Eurkel impression.

Nerd Inspo

J.Crew cardigan / American Apparel Suspenders/ Target Black Glasses
Also Need: Glasses, Suspenders or Bowtie, Pocket protector
Hair: Super High Pigtails // Makeup: Very basic and cute
Oppa Gangham Style
I have a feeling this is going to be a big costume this year. And I even momentarily considered it for myself. If you are going to funny and comfy, and need an excuse to buy and adorable jewel tone blazer, call yourself PSY and get ready to gallop.
Side note: PSY’s life slogan is “Dress classy. Dance cheesy.” I think he’s my spirit animal.
PSY Costume
Also need: Bowtie, Loafers, Sunglasses, Killer dance moves
Hair: If it’s long pull it back, if it’s short slick it back. // Makeup: Minimal

Okay, so I’m dying to know! What is everyone being for Halloween? 

21 thoughts on “Last Minute and Lust Worthy

  1. Truth: I really really really wanted to be Psy for Halloween this year, if only because it would be OK to do that dance the entire night. These are great last minute ideas. I’ve been both a nerd and a flapper before and they’ve never let me down!

    -Alyssa
    The Glossy Life

  2. “Dress classy dance cheesy” is probably the best life motto I’ve ever heard hahahaha. I loved this post – I’m definitely a last minute planner but unfortunately this year I don’t think John and I are dressing up 😦 We went as Wizard of Oz last year with a bunch of people though and that was super fun! I love how you made costumes out of pieces you can actually wear outside of Halloween, spending $50 on a costume I’ll only wear once is always so frustrating! What are you going as this year?

    Stephanie

    • Haha! I think I was Psy in a past life. I’m a liiiittle obsessed with him. Oh no! I’m so sad you aren’t dressing up! I have two ridiculous costumes and I’m hopping I’ll get to wear them both. One is Toddlers and Tiaras and the other is Slash from Guns and Roses. Haha! I can’t wait to show pictures next week! xx

  3. Hahaha I LOVE the last one!! I’m sure it must be all the rage but I hadn’t even thought of it. I would definitely consider that if the party I’m going to wasn’t already Nintendo-themed. Great post!!

Leave a comment