Brinner: Mexican Potato Hash

Breakfast for dinner, aka brinner, is obviously the best thing that happened to meals, other than brunch making day drinking socially appropriate. Everyone knows there is nothing like breakfast for dinner and I was totally craving it the other day. When I was home, my parents and I met my brother and his girlfriend for what was supposed to be brunch at a Mexican restaurant. Unfortunately, they only serve brunch on Sundays, so we had lunch and margaritas instead. But then I was craving a Mexican breakfast, and since I have no time for real breakfast, brinner it was!

0 - BRUNCh

My “brunch” on Saturday

Mexican Potato and Egg Hash adapted from Mango & Tomato

2 links of Mexican chorizo, removed from its casing
2 Yukon Gold potatoes, scrubbed and diced
1/2 white onion, diced
Salt & Pepper
1 tomato, diced
2 eggs
Salsa
Refried beans

This recipe called for a cast iron pan, which I appallingly do not own. I used a pan with high sides and broiled the potato mix before adding the eggs. 

1. Prep potatoes and Mexican chorizo for cooking. Heat a skillet on medium heat. Add chorizo, diced potatoes, and diced onion, and cook for about 15 minutes, or until potatoes are crispy and cooked through. Season with salt & pepper.

2. Add the diced tomato to the chorizo and potato mixture and cook for one minute. Place under broiler for 5 – 10 minutes.

3. Make a spot in the middle of the cast iron skillet and carefully drop in an egg . Cover and cook for 3-5 minutes. Make sure the egg yolk is still runny

4. Serve directly in a skillet on a plate of refried beans and  topped with salsa. Enjoy!

1- Ingredients

2 - Chorizo

3 - Potatos

5 - Cooking

6 - Eggs

7 - Final

6 thoughts on “Brinner: Mexican Potato Hash

  1. Haha LOVE that you coined it Brinner. Plus, it looks so delicious, please make this for me ASAP. Also, I was tempted to really hate you due to the fact that you have an exposed brick wall, but I love you too much to be mad for long. I’m over it.

Leave a Reply

